How KKR, SRH, RR, and RCB Have Fared in IPL 2024 Playoffs

As the IPL 2024 playoffs kick-off, the spotlight is on how the remaining teams—Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH), and Rajasthan Royals (RR)—will fare in the knockout stages. RCB, who secured their spot in the top four by defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Saturday, have the most experience in playoff matches among the four teams. The stage is set for an exciting playoff series, with Kolkata and Hyderabad facing off in Qualifier 1 in Ahmedabad on Tuesday. The winner will secure a direct ticket to the final in Chennai, while the loser gets another chance in Qualifier 2. On Wednesday, Rajasthan will clash with Bengaluru in the Eliminator at the same venue, the Narendra Modi Stadium, promising a thrilling contest.

KKR has been the standout team this season, finishing first in the league with 19 points despite having their last two games washed out. They aim to maintain this momentum going into the playoffs. SRH, under the captaincy of Pat Cummins, has impressed with their fearless approach, earning them a spot in Qualifier 1. Rajasthan, despite being strong leaders in the first half of the season, lost their edge towards the end, missing out on the second spot. Their final league game against KKR was also washed out due to rain, adding to their challenges.

RCB, the last team to make it into the playoffs, pulled off a miraculous turnaround, winning six consecutive matches to secure their spot. They knocked out defending champions CSK in a high-stakes game, showcasing their resilience and determination.

Previous Playoff Records

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

  • Total Playoff Matches: 14
  • Wins: 5
  • Losses: 9

RCB has reached the playoffs nine times in 17 seasons but has struggled in the knockout stages. They have made it to the finals thrice but lost each time—to Deccan Chargers in 2009, CSK in 2011, and SRH in 2016. Recently, RCB made it to the playoffs consecutively from 2020 to 2022 but failed to progress past the qualifiers.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

  • Total Playoff Matches: 13
  • Wins: 8
  • Losses: 5

KKR has a strong playoff record, having won the title twice under Gautam Gambhir’s captaincy in 2012 and 2014. They reached the finals again in 2021 but lost to CSK. With Gambhir returning as a mentor, KKR is looking to revive its past glory.

SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)

  • Total Playoff Matches: 11
  • Wins: 5
  • Losses: 6

SRH, like KKR, aims to return to their dominant form. They won the IPL title in 2016 and reached the finals in 2018. SRH is known for its strong playoff performances and is the only team to have won the title after playing the Eliminator.

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

  • Total Playoff Matches: 9
  • Wins: 4
  • Losses: 5

RR, the inaugural IPL champions in 2008, have made the playoffs six times. They reached the finals in 2022 but lost to the Gujarat Titans. Under the leadership of Sanju Samson, RR will be eager to overcome their recent slump and make a strong comeback in the playoffs.

As the IPL 2024 playoffs begin, all eyes will be on these four teams to see who can handle the pressure and emerge victorious. The high-stakes matches promise to deliver thrilling cricket and unforgettable moments for fans around the world.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.