Indian Batting Blitzkrieg Overpowers Australia

Indian Batting Blitzkrieg Overpowers Australia

The fifties from the Indian top-order led by Yashasvi Jaiswal, a quickfire knock by Rinku Singh and an amazing spell from the Indian spinners helped the Men in Blue trump Australia, at the Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram, on Sunday.

The Toss

Australian skipper Mathew Wade won the toss and chose to field first.

The First Innings

The young Indian batters have given a breath of fresh air to the Men in Blue. Boosting the morale of the team as they get ready for the T20 World Cup in 2024.

Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal (53 in 25b, 9×4, 2×6) led from the front as he scored a quickfire half-century before getting caught on the bowling of Nathan Ellis (4-0-45-3). The fifties of Ruturaj Gaikwad (58 in 43b) and Ishan Kishan (52 in 32 b) laid the platform for India to post a 200+ score.

Skipper Suryakumar Yadav (19 in 10b) went back a little early but middle-order sensation Rinku Singh finished things off in style. Singh hit pacer Sean Abbott (3-0-56-0) for 24 runs in the 19th over with two sixes and three boundaries to take the score well above the 200-run mark. Rinku Singh has emerged as a fiery finisher for the Indian squad as well after his IPL exploits.

India posted a total of 235 runs for the loss of four wickets.

The Second Innings

The Indian spinners kept things tight despite heavy dew. Spinners Ravi Bishnoi (4-0-32-3) and Axar Patel (4-0-25-1) took three wickets in the PowerPlay to put the Kangaroos under pressure. 

Yet, the Australian middle order with the likes of Marcus Stoinis (45 in 25b) and Tim David (37 in 22b) gave India the scare with their 81-run fifth-wicket partnership. But Bishnoi and Mukesh Kumar (4-0-43-1) successfully removed the two in successive overs. 

Skipper Matthew Wade (42 in 23b, not out) stood till the end and played an innings befitting a captain. But the 235 run total proved too much for the Australians as the Indian bowling attack continued to apply the squeeze.

The Australians managed to score 191 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs.

The Result

India beat Australia by 44 runs in the second T20I. Yashasvi Jaiswal was named Player of the Match for his explosive half-century,

The Road Ahead

India leads the five-match series 2-0. Their next clash is on Tuesday, November 28th at Guwahati. Match starts at 7 p.m.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.