Mumbai Indians became the first team to use a foreign "Impact Player" in IPL 2023.

Mumbai Indians became the first team to use a foreign “Impact Player” in IPL 2023.

Jason Behrendorff became the first overseas “Impact Player” in Indian Premier League (IPL) history and etched his name in the history books as an Australian fast bowler. Suryakumar Yadav was replaced by Behrendorff for Mumbai Indians against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bengaluru on Sunday during the IPL 2023 match. MI started the game with three overseas players – Tim David, Cameron Green, and Jofra Archer and made these Aussie cricketers their “Impact Player ”. Till now, in all the cases in their playing XI teams played four overseas cricketers and used an Indian player as the ‘Impact Player’.

The major rule changes for IPL 2023 are mentioned below:

Playing XIs After Toss:

In the 16th edition of the league, the playing XIs were named after the toss. Earlier, the trend was that the captains of both teams used to give their team sheets to the match referee before the toss. This has changed from this league onwards.

Impact Player:

For the ‘Impact Player’ rule, the teams are allowed to substitute a player into the playing XI at any point in the game. The substitute player can either bat bowl or field but would not be a captain of the team.

DRS For Wide, No-Balls:

From this season of IPL 2023, DRS calls will be made for wides and no-balls as well. The players are allowed to review wide-ball and no-ball calls by the on-field umpires. It is a move because of the controversies that had erupted in the past few seasons.

Unfair Movement:

Wicket-keepers can now be penalized for making ‘unfair movements’ behind the stumps from this season onwards. It would be considered an ‘unfair movement’ If a wicketkeeper shuffles before the batter hits the ball.

Penalty For Slow Over-Rates:

Slow over-rates by teams will now see a warrant for the penalty. The 20-over quota is mandatory to be finished by a team within 90 minutes otherwise an extra player would need to be placed inside the 30-yard circle over every over bowled beyond the time limit.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.