Sourav Ganguly's Indian squad for the World Cup

Sourav Ganguly’s Indian squad for the World Cup

Sourav Ganguly, the ex-captain of the Indian cricket team, has selected his lineup for the upcoming 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. The team selection stands out due to certain significant choices, especially regarding the incorporation of players in the midst of their recovery from injuries.

Among the 15 selected players who have recently returned from injuries, K L Rahul and Shreyas Iyer find themselves in a position where they need to demonstrate their match fitness convincingly.

Ganguly’s tactical strategy prioritizes a strong batting lineup for the country’s team. The opening positions are held by the trio of Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, and Ishan Kishan. Within the middle order, a skilful mix of veteran prowess and emerging talent is carefully arranged through the inclusion of Virat Kohli, K L Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav.

Addressing the wicket-keeping responsibilities, Ganguly has identified Kishan and Rahul as potential candidates. Adding to the team’s strength, Hardik Pandya has been designated as the vice president.

In the realm of all-rounders, the spin department finds capable ambassadors in the form of Ravindra Jadeja and Akshar Patel. Meanwhile, Kuldeep Yadav earned his position as the sole specialist spinner in the selected squad.

Who did Ganguly leave?

While including Tilak Varma and Yuzvendra Chahal in the lineup, Ganguly mentioned that if any of the players were to encounter fitness issues, they would be his primary options. He explained, “In case of an injury to a middle-order batter, Tilak Varma would be the replacement. If a fast bowler is unavailable, Prasidh Krishna would step in. Similarly, if one of the spinners is unfit, the choice would be Yuzvendra Chahal.

I will always pick Chahal. I will always pick wrist spinners, I don’t know what the selectors think but I would always pick wrist spinners, “he added.

“Combining youth and experience is essential; a strong team is a fusion of both elements. It’s important to have the exuberance and boldness that youth brings, alongside seasoned campaigners like Rohit, Virat, Rahul, Jadeja, and Pandya. Having someone who can fearlessly take charge is imperative,” Ganguly concluded.

Sourav Ganguly’s Indian squad for the World Cup includes:

Captain: Rohit Sharma
Vice Captain: Hardik Pandaya
Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.